From Card Woes to Cardio: Finding a Gym as an International Student in Dalarna University 

I would say that I am a bit of a fitness fanatic, part of the #fitfam community. It was only fitting that when I arrived in Dalarna, Sweden, I was going to be on the hunt for the most suitable gym to enable me to remain balanced. You know, finding my center so that I do not get burnt out with schoolwork, all while looking my best, of course. So, today, I will be sharing with you how I was able to decide among all the amazing available gyms here in Dalarna and settle for one. 

My fitness journey began with a quest to find the perfect gym or fitness center in Borlänge. I must admit, it was not all smooth sailing, but hey, every adventure has its challenges, right? 

I started my fitness center search by reading a helpful post from Tereza back in 2016. It was all about staying active and featured the gym scene. Armed with this newfound knowledge, I decided to check out Friskis & Svettis, which was conveniently close to my place, just an 11-minute walk from Mångatan. I strolled in, excited and ready to get my fitness on. However, I was swiftly informed that without a Personummer (a Swedish social security number)- which I had not received at the time, I would be set back 540 SEK monthly, with a signup fee of 150 SEK. I must admit, this felt a bit on the steep side, so I decided to explore my options. 

Source: Actic.se/ Actic  Maserhallen Swimming Pool 

My next stop was Actic Maserhallen, a slightly longer walk of 19 minutes from Mångatan (where I live), but closer to the main student accommodation, Locus Student Housing (only 9 minutes away). The offer here was more appealing – 323 SEK per month, excluding a signup fee of 248 SEK. I was all set to sign up and make it official, but alas, my international bank card failed, so it was a no-go for me, but more about payment issues as an international student in a later post.  It is important to note that Actic Maserhallen is well known for its extensive weight training facilities and wait for it, swimming pool! 

With my Actic Maserhallen plan falling through, I decided to check out a third option called  Fitness24Seven at the city center, which is a 30-minute walk from Mångatan but will only be a 1-minute walk from the new Dalarna University Campus once it is commissioned. The  membership cost for students is 249 SEK per month with a signup fee of 249 SEK. But here is the kicker: when I arrived at around 2 PM on a Tuesday, there was no one around to assist me. Their staff hours are limited to 4 PM – 7 PM from Mondays to Thursdays. Let us just say I did not feel the urge to come back later. 

A section in Friskis and Svettis 

Refusing to give up, I circled back to Friskis & Svettis and had a chat with a friendly staff member who dropped the good news – it was indeed possible to sign up without a Personummer (which I had not obtained at the time), plus there was an opportunity for a discount if I committed to a 4-month membership at once. Having explored other gym options in the area, I was more than ready to take the plunge. The best part? I paid 365 SEK per month for the 4-month period with a 150 SEK signup fee per year. 

PRICING AND FACILITIES SUMMARY 

 Friskis & Svettis Skomakargatan Gym Actic Maserhallen Gym Fitness24Seven Gym Borlänge 
Monthly Fee in SEK (Student) 365 323 249 
Sign Up Fee in SEK 150 248 249 
Group Classes Yes  Yes Yes 
Added Facilities Sauna Pool, Sauna, Sports Halls Girls Only Gym 
Operating Hours Mondays- Thursdays: 6.15-21:15. Fridays-6.15-19:15. Saturday: 9:00-17:15. Sunday: 9:00- 21.15 Mondays- Thursdays: 6.30-21:00. Fridays-6.30-20:00. Weekends: 8:00-17:00 24 hours, everyday of the week. 
Free Wifi Yes  Yes Yes 
   
**Prices and Information for year 2023. 

With my Friskis & Svettis membership in hand, I was granted access to the gym seven days a week, a whole array of group classes, and even the sauna. I could not be happier with my decision. 

Having a gym membership not only keeps me active but also reminds me to prioritize wellness even amid school pressures. It is an investment in my overall well-being, which I believe is priceless. 

I cannot wait to spill all the inside scoop on what it is like to work out at Friskis & Svettis, the dos and don’ts, and the group class schedules. 

In the meantime, remember to keep the balance in your life, just like when you are working on those squats 💪. 

XOXO 

Previous posts from this Author: 

Fashion & Beauty Quest in Dalarna: My Map to Glam 

One thought on “From Card Woes to Cardio: Finding a Gym as an International Student in Dalarna University 

Leave a comment